Malaysia’s Melaka and George Town on World Heritage list

Melaka River

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation’s (UNESCO) World Heritage Committee has inscribed Melaka and George Town, Penang, into the UNESCO World Heritage List. The two Malaysian capitals now join the ranks of Gunung Mulu National Park and Kinabalu Park, both inscribed into the list in 2000.
Malaysia’s inscription into the UNESCO World Heritage List joins other iconic landscapes and monuments such as China’s Great Wall, India’s Taj Mahal, the US’ Grand Canyon and Australia’s Great Barrier Reef.
The list, decided by the World Heritage Committee, is based on nominations of properties by countries which have adhered to the World Heritage Convention. By identifying and nominating properties to be considered for the list, these countries give details of how a property is protected and provide a management plan for its upkeep. The countries are also expected to protect the World Heritage values of the properties inscribed and are encouraged to report periodically on their condition.
Malaysia has also submitted two other nominations for future consideration: the Taman Negara National Park in Pahang and the Lanjak-Entimau Wildlife Sanctuary and Batang Ai National Park in Sarawak.
The UNESCO World Heritage List has 878 properties all over the world comprising 679 cultural, 174 natural and 25 mixed properties in 145 countries.