Working towards a green today

THE purpose of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is to recognise those organisations that are setting the sustainability benchmark in their field. Not just focusing on increasing revenue, global leaders have the vision to ensure travel and tourism remains sustainable and environmentally friendly.

The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards - in their 11th year under the World Travel and Tourism Council stewardship – have six award categories:

• Community Award - recognises organisations committed to sustainable tourism leadership in local community development, empowerment and cultural heritage

• Destination Award - recognises destinations which show commitment to supporting and delivering sustainable tourism best practices

• Environment Award - recognises organisations achieving environmental best practice through biodiversity conservation, protection of natural habitats, addressing climate change, and green operations

• Innovation Award - recognises innovative solutions to overcoming the challenges faced by Travel & Tourism in implementing sustainability in practice

• People Award - recognises organisations dedicated to the development of capacity building, training and education to build a skilled tourism workforce for the future

• Sustainable Business Award - recognises large tourism businesses which successfully integrate sustainable tourism best practices into their planning and operations

Fiona Jeffery OBE, former chairman of WTM and chairman and founder of the international water aid charity Just a Drop, is the new chairperson of the awards.

She says the awards recognise best practice worldwide.

“We want to hear from outstanding applicants, who are maximising social and economic benefits for local people, reducing negative impacts to the environment and supporting the protection of cultural and natural heritage in destinations, wherever they operate,” she says.

The entries for the 2015 awards closed this November. Watch this space for nomination announcements.